pumpkin stew

Nearly a year ago, JM emailed me the recipe for a seriously amazing baked pumpkin stew that he made, along with a beautiful picture (see above). This morning I went on a hunt for the recipe, looking through every single post I’ve ever done, and it turns out I never actually posted it, or maybe I did and I am just not a very good searcher. No matter: I’m posting it again to cajole JM into reviving the recipe for our dinner gathering tomorrow. JM, you are responsible for baking four pumpkins, okay? And one of them should be made without breadcrumbs. Also, don’t forget to walk the dog in the morning and then work all day and then hang a bunch of pictures in the living room before dinner and then do the dishes after we eat and then listen to me complain for two hours and then kiss me good night and then run out for half-and-half the next morning when I forget to buy it but really need it for my coffee.

Okay, so JM is officially in husband overtime. I need to stop writing now so I can go give him a shoulder rub and then make him lunch and then drive him to yoga and clean up the house while he sits with his feet up reading Tennessee Williams. I like to think that, together, JM and I make one calm work-life balance person and one insane die-at-40 person. Isn’t that what marriage is all about?

Pumpkin Stew
(Borrowed from Saveur)

Ingredients:
-1 adorable mini-pumpkin (around 4 lbs.)
-5 tbs butter, divided and softened
-1/2 yellow onion, diced
-3/4 cup of toasted breadcrumbs
-5 or 6 fresh sage leaves, chopped
-2-3 cups no- or low-sodium vegetable stock
-1/2 cup of grated parmesan + 1/3 cup of grated gouda
-1 bay leaf
-1-2 shallots, sliced
-salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Cut a tennis ball-sized lid on top of the pumpkin and set the lid aside. De-seed and de-string. Rub the inside of pumpkin and lid with 1 tbsp of softened butter, season with salt, and place on a baking pan.

Melt 3 tbs of the butter in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until soft, about 10 minutes. Stir in the bread crumbs and cook for 2 minutes, then add sage and season generously with salt and pepper. Remove from heat, stir in the cheese, and then spoon mixture into the pumpkin. Pour enough stock into pumpkin to come within 1⁄2″ of the rim. Lay the bay leaf on top, then fit the lid on to the pumpkin.

Bake until pumpkin begins to soften and brown on the outside and the stock bubbles on the inside, about 1 hour. When it’s about 15 minutes from done, fry the shallots in the remaining tbsp of butter.

When the pumpkin is baked, carefully remove it from the oven and transfer it to a plate or bowl. Remove the bay leaf and garnish with the shallots. Dazzle your guests with this fanciness.

3 thoughts on “pumpkin stew

  1. Hi You Guys, After 2 years I finally made this dish today and Ted and I had it for lunch with slice of country bread. It is a wonderful recipe, so rich tasting. I miss your postings, but understand why you are absent.
    Aunt Carol

Leave a Reply

