arugula salad with pumpkin seeds, gorgonzola, and lemon vinaigrette

Me: “I have to fix this.” (opens the salad jpeg in Photoshop)
JM: “Is that a salad?”
Me: “Yeah.”
JM: “It looks good.”
Me: “Thanks.” (adjusts curves, checks the preview, frowns, and hits ‘cancel’)
JM: (watches me adjust and cancel a few more times) “Can I say something?”
Me: “No!”
JM: “It’s not about the picture…”
Me: “No! I don’t want to hear it!” (pulls monitor closer to face, pouts at it, and then goes back to adjusting curves and hitting ‘cancel’)
JM: “But it’s not about the picture!”
Me: “What’s it about, then?” (glares at JM)
JM: “It’s about curves…”
Me: “Then I don’t want to hear it!” (hides laptop monitor on chest) “People like my photos! They think they’re nice!”
JM: “Okay, okay…” (turns back toward his own laptop, and goes back to logging very well-lit and incredibly professional-looking footage)

3 thoughts on “arugula salad with pumpkin seeds, gorgonzola, and lemon vinaigrette

  1. Oh, this sounds SO MUCH like my boyfriend and I. And my dad and I, actually. Both are/were photographers and I, frankly, am not. As much as I am always asking them to show me things with the camera and to show me how to photograph a certain plate well, I do have my moments of pride. Either way, the dish looks lovely! I do love pumpkin seeds.

Leave a Reply

