peanut butter pancakes

There are a few reasons I haven’t been posting as much as usual, I guess, but foremost among them is that I’ve recently reentered the tinkering phase of the home cooking cycle. That is to say: my usual go-to dishes are no longer enough, and I’ve felt the need to create new ones, and that means one thing.

Mediocrity.

That’s right, you heard it here first — my cooking, of late, has been like one spelling error in an otherwise good job application, a big yellow ribbon for third place, an A for Effort, a macaroni necklace worn immediately upon its receipt and then hidden in a drawer until it pulverizes and you’re finding pasta bits in your good jewelry for the subsequent decade. But that’s not to say I haven’t been trying, and we’ve got a bunch of nifty sayings in our culture to help us along the mediocre route to failures #1-7, mediocrities #7-19, pretty goods #20-78, and minor successes all the way up to 100, 200, or whatever it takes. “Practice makes perfect, bonzo.” “If at first you don’t succeed, try try again (after a stiff drink).” “Malcolm Gladwell says it takes, what, like 10 million hours to get really good at something? I forget, because I never actually read his book.”

But in the spirit of kitchen honesty, which this blog has all too much of, I’ve decided to stop hiding the mediocrity, the trying, the not-quite-rightness of the Road to Delish. I’ll get it right one of these days. And I comfort myself by remembering that I have even adjusted some of the most pedigreed recipes (e.g. the Joy of Cooking’s chocolate chip cookie recipe), confirming that even the most seasoned cooks get a B+ sometimes. So, without further ado, my latest escapade…

Pretty Good Peanut Butter Pancakes

Ingredients:
-2/3 cup of peanut flour (I got it from Trader Joe’s, but I hear they’re discontinuing it — you can totally order it online, though)
-2 tbs almond meal
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-a healthy pinch of salt
-3/4 cup almond milk
-1 tbs agave nectar
-1 egg
-1 tbs oil (any kind will do — I used canola)
-1 banana
-something to drizzle on top (JM had the brilliant idea of using pomegranate molasses, which totally redeemed the entire endeavor)

Mix the dry ingredients in a largeish bowl, and then the almond milk, egg, and oil in a smaller one. Make a little well in the flour and add the wet ingredients, mixing until smooth. Butter a medium-hot pan and get to work: these pancakes should be about the size of your ego the day after making a kind of okay dinner the night before (i.e. the size of a teacup saucer). Cook 2-3 minutes on each side, and then top with sliced banana and something sweet. Promise to do better next time by adding the following: 1-2 tbs peanut butter, an additional tablespoon of agave, whole milk instead of almond milk, and an additional egg white. Which may work, but may not. JM may be eating a lot of pancakes for the next few weeks. Poor lamb.

5 thoughts on “peanut butter pancakes

  1. For your older, somewhat plumper followers: can you estimate the “carb count” on this?

    I know, I know: if you have to ask, don’t eat it.

    1. Actually, the net carb count on these is extremely low due to the use of nut flour instead of wheat flour, and the calorie count is also pretty low since peanut flour is much lower in fat than regular peanut butter. So they’re perfect for those of us who miss pancakes but have a spare tire or two to deflate.

  2. They look (and sound) pretty awesome to me.

    I know what you mean though. I have a repertoire of recipes that are at the verge of greatness but that I’ve gotten sick of cooking and even sicker of eating. So what do I do? Abandon the tried and true or move into unexplored and sometimes kind of gross territory? With a bit of trepidation, the latter. Thankfully, there are always frittata fixings in the fridge in case dinner needs to be flushed.

Leave a Reply

