beet greens, roasted yams, and quinoa

Oh, San Francisco. Let me count the ways, in no particular order:

1. Bi-Rite
2. Dolores Park
3. Jasper
4. Walking
5. Philz

There’s more, of course, but I’ll just plead the Fifth and move on to what I made for dinner last Saturday:


I made more radicchio with gorgonzola, because (and I truly believe this) nothing improves a recipe like beating it to death. There’s something about the nuttiness of the toasted outer leaves that really takes practice to refine, and I’m getting closer every time. But on to the quinoa. This really was incredibly easy: boiled red quinoa with a bit of salt, roasted yams with garlic and rosemary, and sautéed beet greens. The yams, rosemary, and greens came from Bi-Rite, which is one of my favorite grocery stores in the world. It’s small, but the selection and quality are breathtaking. It’s also really nice to go to a gourmet/health food store that isn’t Whole Foods.

I’m really digging these quinoa-based salads lately.

Leave a Reply

