roasted chickpeas

“Did we ever post about roasted chickpeas?”

“I don’t know.”

What WordPress failed to tell me when I signed up for this blog is that consistent posting over long stretches of time can lead to a sort of hallucinatory state, whereby you can no longer tell the difference between blog life and real life. It’s a little like when you can’t tell the difference between dreams and reality – but worse, because blogs are indexed and there is nothing stopping me from just looking it up, except I’m lazy and would rather repeat myself, and I think I just discovered something about the aging process.

In any event, if we did write about these chickpeas before, it’s worth writing about them again. Sprinter – half-spring, half-winter – is a fickle time of year, and requires recipes that can double as comfort food and snacky, standing-outside-in-your-pajamas food. Roasted chickpeas definitely fit the bill. If your sprinter is feeling a bit nippy, add some extra garlic and a smattering of paprika. If it’s on the warmer side, don’t be shy with the lemon juice. Chickpeas are also neat because (and I’m pretty sure I have said this before), as my high school Latin teacher told me, Cicero means chickpea in Latin. That kind of takes Mr. De Legibus down a notch, doesn’t it? Lorem ipsum…right into my belly!

Roasted Chickpeas
Serves 1/2 a person. Maybe 1 if you’re generous.

Ingredients:
-1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained well
-2-3 tbs olive oil
-1 clove of garlic, crushed
-sea salt
-lemon juice and/or paprika to taste (optional)

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Dry the chickpeas with a paper towel, and toss them with the oil in a roasting pan. Add the salt and crushed garlic, and hold your horses while the oven finished preheating. Alternatively, you could just play a game of solitaire or Words With Friends while you wait for the oven to preheat, and then do everything I just listed above. Either way, get those little ciceros in the oven and let them roast for about 30 minutes, stirring them around once or twice to make sure they brown evenly.

When they’re done, sprinkle them with a tablespoon or two of lemon juice, and add a little paprika for heat if sprinter’s getting you down. Toss well, and devour.

Leave a Reply

